Closer to God

Title: Closer to God

Director: Billy Senese

Writer: Billy Senese

Runtime: 81 min

Rating: R

Synopsis: A doctor successfully creates the first viable human clone, but behind this creation is a dark history.

Review: This is the sort of film that left me going “W…T…F…” the synopsis given by VUDU made me assume it would be a more thought-based piece, but it quickly turned into a horror. I’m not a fan of horror, so it wasn’t my cup of tea, but for people who love to sit on the edge of their seats only to jump under the blankets at least once or twice? This is the film for you.

The general idea is an interesting thought experiment, what would happen if we successfully cloned humans? How would humanity react? But the thought experiment quickly gives into the Hollywood need to entertain, resulting in a half horror half political work of art which features some amazing cinematography and a convoluted storyline. While I did find myself somewhat lost at times, and not entirely sure what was happening, I guess that is sort of the point of horror. If you enjoy a certain level of paranoia, this is the movie for you. If you’re more the mind meld kinda person, but don’t want to feel anxious, this will be a toss up. I find myself to be a very psychological person, so to others this could easily slip in one side of your brain and out the other without any consequence. If that’s the case, then I applaud you. Now I’m going to go back to wondering what the heck is up with Ethan?
If you watch the movie and figure it out, please, tell me… because I’m not totally sure.

Watch a preview of the movie here

Or, watch it free (with commercials) now on VUDU!

Image is a still shot from the film and therefore being cited below:

Closer to God. Dir. Billy Senese. Perf. Jeremy Childs and Shelean Newman. LC Pictures, 2015. VUDU. Web. 23 Apr. 2017.

Please, if my citations are incorrect let me know! I want to make sure to give credit where credit is due. The artists at work put a lot of time and effort into their films, I’m just here to help bring exposure to said films.

Leave a Reply

