If I Had Wings

I will probably shift back into some darker films soon, but in the meantime I’ve been really in the mood for movies that just make you happy. The kind you don’t have to think too hard about that make you all warm and fuzzy inside. So without further ado:

Name: If I Had Wings

Director: Allan Harmon

Writer: Michael Markus and Tim Stubinski

Runtime: 89 min.

Rating: PG

Synopsis: A blind high school student, eager to run cross country, partners up with an unlikely ally in order to get a shot at joining the team.

Review: This movie is feel-good through and through. If you want to watch something to motivate you and make you feel better about the day, then here you go. This family friendly film features a blind student, Alex, who decided he wants to run cross country. Unable to find someone to team up with him his father turns to a Juvenille Delinquent he is the probation officer for, in hopes of giving the student one last chance to avoid jail and allowing his son the chance to run. Now I’m sure you can imagine where this is going, and it’s in the same vain of movies like This is Us or The Fault is in our Stars without all the romance, and a much happier ending. You may think, wait how is that possible? It’s really about the tone, the writing, the style of cinematography, the choice in protagonist.

Now Richard Harmon is not blind, but he does a decent job of convincing me he is. When I turn off my critique lens I have no problem believing him. Though in reality I think Jaren Bartlett (Brad) stole the show. Maybe it’s because I think he has a cute face and solid muscle tone, but Bartlett presented what I thought was just an amazing performance. Plus, he’s Native (or more technically First Nations as he’s from Canada) and as you probably know by now I’m a sucker for a film where one of its’ protagonists is of a less casted minority. The inclusion of Native/First Nations actors into this film was a breathe of fresh air and if Bartlett is still acting, I hope to see him in other larger rolls in the future.

Overall, this movie is really well done. It is family safe (if you’ve got kids or teens who want a movie night and you air on the conservative side of content) and no matter what your age a portion of it will probably make you smile. There are characters for just about everyone to relate to. Besides, who doesn’t love a feel good sports movie about some disenfranchised boys looking to make good for themselves?

If you’re interested check out the trailer here

Or, if you’re already feeling it watch it now on VUDU (free with ads) or order it for $1.99 on Amazon Video. Also available on Netflix, I think… don’t quote me on that. Netflix has a link in the search query but I’m currently without a Netflix subscription so I can’t double check.

Image is a still shot from the film and therefore being cited below:

If I Had Wings. Dir. Allan Harmon. Perf. Richard Harmon and Jaren Brandt Bartlett. Two 4 the Money Media, 2013. VUDU. Web. 15 May 2017.

Leave a Reply

